The history of the Spital site dates back to 997AD.
Recent site surveys have exposed an Ancient Monument Hostel dating back to medieval times which was built on top of a Roman Marching Camp. The ancient monument land which now hosts the camping site dates back to King Atherson, the first Anglo Saxon King of England.
The location was then occupied by an ancient monastery which was later demolished by Henry V111 between 1536 and 1541 when he disbanded the monastic communities in England, Ireland & Wales and the centre is built on what remains of the old monastery,
The Grade II listed, sixteenth-century farmhouse, visible as you approach the site, was the original ‘Spital’ from the Hospital of St Mary, Staxton which belonged to the priory of Bridlington.
In 1999 the site was bought by Allan & Sandra Hunnybell in a derelict state of repair. Through hard work
and enthusiasm, they have transformed and created a wonderful centre which today houses the Spital Inn & Restaurant, a unique Victorian Shopping Village and a peaceful and traditional Caravan Park.
Why not visit us and experience a site rich in history, enjoy a drink and home cooked meal and experience our unique Victorian shopping village,